What Is Distracting You?

Sometimes I like to imagine the enemy creating noise to distract me from hearing God’s voice.

I picture that sore loser clanging cymbals next to my ear, rattling pots and tin cans like a naughty child making a mess in the kitchen. He knows he lost the battle for eternity, so he resorts to such things.

He does the same to all of us. He’s doing it to you.

Pay Attention

Sometimes his work is more subtle. He will remind you of things that make you feel irritated, robbing you of your concentration. ‘The carpet is stained.’ ‘The soup has spilled over!’ ‘We’re OUT of SUGAR.’ ‘I can’t believe I’ve used up the shampoo AND the conditioner.’

The enemy will whisper these things to send you into a panic. Then you will deafen yourself with worry while he sits back and laughs. Talk about playing dirty!

We have to remember what Jesus said: ‘Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to his life?’ (Matthew 6:27).

When we’re caught up worrying, we lose moments of life! Worry has no place in the life of a Christian.

Pray

Ponder these words spoken by Our Lord: ‘My sheep listen to My voice.’ (John 10:27).

Ask Jesus for help tuning out the devil’s pathetic cymbal-clanging. Listen instead for the voice your Shepherd. I promise He’s speaking to you.

Listen for Jesus’ voice. Don’t let the enemy confuse you away from your flock, which is what he intends to do.

Listen for your Shepherd.

One thought on “What Is Distracting You?

Leave a comment